Meet the Organizers

Professor Heidi Dreyer, Chair of Scientific Programme, NTNU


Heidi C. Dreyer is a Professor at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim, Norway. She has initiated a number of national and international research projects on “Supply Chain Planning and Control”, all which has been performed in close cooperation with manufacturers and retailers such as Tine, Coop, Boots Norway, Brødrene Dahl and Nortura. Her research has published in peer-reviewed journals including International Journal of Physical Distribution and Logistics management, Production Planning & Control and Computers in Industry among others. She is an Editorial Board member of European Management Journal and a Board Member of IFIP Working Group on Advances in Production Management Systems. Lately she has been a Visiting Researcher at Cardiff Business School, UK.

Associate Professor Torbjørn H. Netland, Chair of Communication, NTNU


Torbjørn Netland is an Associate Professor at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) and a Senior Researcher at the SINTEF Technology & Society, Trondheim, Norway. He has been a Visiting Researcher at the University of Cambridge, UK, and Georgetown University, Washington D.C. His research on “Managing Corporate Lean Programs” has been performed in close cooperation with global companies like the Volvo Group, Jotun, Madshus, Kongsberg Defence and Aerospace, and Kvaerner. His research appears in several peer-reviewed journals including MIT SMR, JOM, POM, IJPR, IJOPM, among others. He is a Board Member of the European Operations Management Association (EurOMA). Being a dedicated research communicator, he blogs at and tweets as @tnetland.

Professor Jan Ola Strandhagen, Chair of Finance, NTNU


Jan Ola Strandhagen is a professor in Manufacturing Logistics at the department of production and quality engineering at NTNU in Trondheim. He holds a PhD in Manufacturing Logistics. Most of his career has been with the research organisation SINTEF, working as researcher and manager for three decades. His research activities focus on manufacturing strategy, the use of ICT for real-time planning and control in plants and manufacturing networks and collaborative performance management. He now holds a full professorship at NTNU, doing research and education in Manufacturing Strategy, Production Planning and Control and Simulation and Modelling. His research appears in CiI, IJOPM, IJPR and PPC, to mention a few journals. He has supervised 10 PhDs. Strandhagen was the research director at the NORMAN Research Centre at SINTEF.

Professor Luitzen de Boer, Chair of Logistics, NTNU


“Luitzen de Boer (1970) is a Professor at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim, Norway and chairs the research group on Green Value Creation at Department of Industrial Economics and Technology Management. He graduated from the University of Twente in the Netherlands in Industrial Engineering and obtained his doctoral degree from the same university. His main research interests are sustainable purchasing and supply management, public procurement, logistics and supply chain management. Much of his research focuses on how purchasers in firms and public organizations deal with issues related to sustainability. The theoretical basis for his research is founded on behavioural theories of decision-making, management cybernetics and system theory. He is a former committee member of the International Purchasing and Supply Education and Research Association (IPSERA) and was associate-editor of the Journal of Purchasing and Supply Management. He has published in various international journals such as Journal of Purchasing and Supply Management, International Journal of Operations & Production Management, Journal of Cleaner Production, Journal of Environmental Management, and European Journal of Operational Research.”

The Team

erlend_bw title=

Erlend Alfnes, NTNU
Industry panel


Øyvind Andersen, NTNU
Technical assistance


Jorunn Auth, SINTEF
Conference organization


Anne Evjemo, NTNU
Conference organization


Marius Hansen, NTNU
Volunteers coordinator


Verena Hagspiel, NTNU
Young Scholars Workshop


Lise L. Halse, HiMolde
Doctoral Seminar


Natalia Iakymenko, NTNU
Exhibitors & Sponsors


Michael Jensen, NTNU
Local Tour


Kasper Kiil, NTNU
Conference scheduling


Marta Mathisen, SINTEF
Regional Tour


Eli Meistad, NTNU
Conference organization


Tara Nehzati, NTNU
Conference scheduling


Anita Romsdal, NTNU
Conference committee


Børge Sjøbakk, SINTEF
Social programme


Pavan K. Sriram, NTNU
Conference committee